Our youngest is extremely verbal. He listens, remembers, and repeats. He thinks about things a lot. He asks questions and when we’re not expecting it, our own words will come back to us via his sweet, thoughtful, six-year-old voice. And when we state our intentions and commitments out loud, we’re sure to be held accountable:

“But, Mom, didn’t you say you wanted to spend less so that you can save for another mosquito net?”

“Wait! We forgot to pray for the people of Bangladesh!”

“Are we going to support a child through Compassion International soon?”

“Have you read the psalms for today?”

“Here’s the Bible story book. We just read about Saul. What’s next?”

“It’s Saturday–didn’t you say you’d clip my fingernails every Saturday morning?”

This can be a little annoying when I’m “caught,” when I haven’t followed through. But I think that’s the point of having an accountability partner:

  • to help me hold to the things I resolve to do;
  • or, to remind me to stop doing the things that I don’t want to do.

I realized that The Boy’s super-verbal personality is a gift. He can remind me to follow-through with things and be true to my word.

Sometimes it happens naturally, because he listens to everything I say and simply asks out of curiosity if I’m doing what I said I’d be doing.

Sometimes, however, I can be more intentional and actually ask him to bring it up. “I’m going to try to memorize this passage of Scripture. Can you ask me to repeat it to you later?”

He agrees to it. And he does ask later.

When he’s able to type, I’m thinking I can set him up with a website so that he can start his own accountability ministry.

In the meantime, I get to benefit most of all. A simple thing he’s helped with lately is reminding me of my blog commitments:

“It’s Sunday night, Mama–you need to write your Monday FunDay post!” or “It’s Tuesday. What are you going to write for Works For Me Wednesday?”

So, when I need some accountability, I just ask my most verbal child for help. He may only be six years old, but it works for me.

Before you go, feel free to browse my previously published WFMW posts, or return to Rocks In My Dryer for more great ideas.