Yesterday I stopped by a dear friend’s house on the next street over to return something, and we started to chat. She slipped inside for a minute and came back out with a glass of iced tea and a glass of lemonade.

“This is for you,” she said, handing me the lemonade and keeping the tea for herself.

Now, her lemonade is great, but I love, love, love her sweet tea. I haven’t sampled widely, I think she makes the best sweet tea in all of Indiana. In fact, hers might even hold its own in Tennessee or Alabama.  

She knows how nuts I am about her tea, so why was she handing me the lemonade?

As she held it out, she said, “This is for you, because I know you can’t have caffeine this late in the afternoon.”

I glanced at my watch. It was after 5:00 p.m. She was right! She knew me better than I knew myself in that moment, remembering that I told her how caffeine affects me. If I drink tea after 1:30 or 2:00 p.m., I’m wide awake until way after 1:30 or 2:00 a.m.

I felt known.

And to realize I was known, I also felt loved.

